Gardens past & present

My side garden has changed over the years.
In the beginning it was a vegetable garden, I spent many hours with my oldest son working in the garden.
image

After a few years it was converted into a flower garden. I had many naked ladies planted in it along with some tropicals and roses.
image
Eventually I added an arbor and more roses. This was my favorite design. It was a lovely garden with many flowers and we had many visitors. The brown lab was a very large garden pest but we loved her.
imageimageimageimageimageimage

Presently the garden is in a shambles. We have enlarged the planting area and it will be divided into two separate sections. The Rose Garden will stay and we will add a raised bed vegetable garden in the fall. The roses are still present and thanks to better care are thriving. I’m hoping that the irises are lying dormant underground.
image
In the meantime I am stopping to smell the roses.
image

3 thoughts on “Gardens past & present

Leave a comment